Delighted with Artemis

I am delighted. Last night, I finished working on a poem – one that’s kept me occupied and pre-occupied for 7-8 sittings.

It’s entitled Artemis, and finishing it was part of a longer process of cleaning up and applying polish to poetry I had previously written. In the past, I never expected anyone to read my poetry except for myself and close friends. Now though, I’m interested in seeing it published, and as a result, the work needs to be of a certain standard. Partly to be publishable, but it’s more out of a desire to see the poems reach their potential.

So I’ve been studying up, and working to implement what I’m learning. It’s been a helluva process. Poetry is hard. Sure it’s easy enough to string some pretty or interesting words together, but to do it right means taking images, ideas, emotions and distilling, refining, and crystallizing them.

I’ve always said that I didn’t want the life of a poet. Living in that crucible is a bit too hard, I think. But there are certainly lessons to be learned from poetry. At the line level, there is meter, word choice, clarity, breath control. But there’s also something to be explored in the mystery of writing poetry – of perseverance, observation, and the sources of inspiration/creativity.

This particular poem is one I wrote years ago when I was still living in Oregon. It was one of those gifts that (I thought) springs wholly formed into the mind. Little did I know that what I had was only the start. A good start, but no more than that.

Months ago (while in Japan) I began revising it, but the work was put on hold when I came back to the United States. Now after 2-3 weeks of work, I think it’s finished.

I’ve tried to be a good student and pay attention to the process. To be mindful of the things I’m learning about writing and including them in the poem. Maybe it’s just the relief of being finished, but the poem seems to have turned out well.

And now I’m faced with a dilemma – I would like to share the poem with you here at the Journal, but if I want to see it published, then I probably shouldn’t post it. So if you’d like to see it, send me a message or leave a comment, and I’ll email you copy.

You can let me know what you think – about whether it works or not. Just because I like it doesn’t mean anyone else will. *grin*

~ by Samer on April 23, 2008.

One Response to “Delighted with Artemis

  1. i would love to read your poem, after all Artemis is my namesake.

Leave a Reply

 
