Reading List Updated

This is just a quick note to say that I’ve updated the reading list. Here’s what I’ve been reading:

Pretender and Deliverer by C.J. Cherryh
If you’ve read the seven (!) previous books in this series, then you know what to expect. Pretender in particular spends a lot of time in the main protagonist’s head, but this is something Cherryh excels at. Deliverer picks up the pace nicely though.

Territory by Emma Bull
This is such a fun book! I highly recommend it! Wyatt Earp is a sorcerer and the events leading up to the gun battle at the OK Corral are not as history purports them to be. I first read Emma Bull years and years ago when War of the Oaks came out, and I like her a lot. (You also see her writing at Shadow Unit.) She’s clearly enjoying herself with Territory, including messing with some of the iconography of the old American West.

The King’s Own by Lorna Freeman
Another fun book – I really like the main character. There’s a sequel that’s somewhat darker, but still enjoyable. Supposedly (*fingers crossed*) there’s a third book coming out this year. I’ve read this one before and will read it again.

Olympic Games by Leslie What
A solid book by an author mostly known for her short fiction. I liked this modern telling of the Greek gods in the modern day (although it seems only Zeus and Hera manage to make to the present). The cover is not exactly inspiring, but as I said the story’s enjoyable and there are some very nice writing bits.

Howl’s Moving Castle and Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones
I’ll admit to being a huge fan of Hayao Miyazaki. I’ve seen all of his feature films, and that was my introduction to Howl’s Moving Castle by Jones. A charming book – I enjoyed it. Castle in the Air continues that effort, although I found it slow to start. Mostly, I had a hard time reading the obsequiousness of the main character.

Engaging the Enemy, Command Decision, and Victory Conditions by Elizabeth Moon
These are books three, four, and five in the Vatta’s War series. Military SF, but Moon is very good at military SF. Command Decision is a transition book, but that doesn’t bother me. I’m happy to spend time with interesting characters. Victory Conditions is the final book, and ends the series well.

The Chronicles of Master Li and Number Ten Ox by Barry Hughart
This is an omnibus of three novels featuring Master Li (a sage with a slight flaw to his character) and Number Ten Ox (his somewhat assistant and the narrator). These books are a delight! The characters are so endearing, and the stories take place in a fantastic mythological China. I was surprised to learn that the omnibus I own is worth $100-$150 used. Happily, there is a new edition coming out later this year that will be reasonably priced. Recommended!

Rules for the Dance by Mary Oliver
If you have any interest at all in classical poetry, grab a copy of this book and read it. Oliver’s writing is a wonder to behold, and she is quite clearly in her element writing about that which she loves. The book is concise and elucidates simply the ins and outs of meter in poetry. Even better (at least for me) it contains some distilled, crystallized wisdom about writing. I love Oliver’s poetry, and now I can say I love her prose as well.

Hmm… I started out just wanting to note a couple of the books, but I seem to have gotten carried away and provided mini-reviews instead. What a rambling and enthusiastic mess this post turned out to be!

~ by Samer on April 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
