The Place Slowly Coming Together

I’m really pleased with the way the apartment is coming together. In past years, almost all of my furniture was inherited from roommates and friends. Don’t get me wrong – those pieces served me well. There’s a couch from Carrie, for example, that was probably the most comfortable thing to sleep on.

But I’m definitely at a stage now (due a mixture of age and all the traveling around) that I’m interested in establishing my own place. To have my surroundings reflect my values and aesthetics. To have the place support who I am and what I want to be.

That might sound a little over-the-top, but I’m a firm believer that environment has a profound effect on people. I’m sure you know someone, for example, who absolutely cannot work when there’s clutter around them. Or if you’ve ever walked into a place and you could feel it suck the life right out of you.

Well, my goal is it to ensure that my apartment is a comfortable and interesting place to live. That means comfy places to sit and read, interesting use of colors and shapes, warmth, capacity for guests and visitors, and so on.

And as I said, I’m please with how it’s coming along. At first, I wanted to rush and fill the place, but my health kept that from happening. Now I’m glad, because since I’ve chilled out – the pieces have been slowly finding me. 🙂

It’s still not complete and I’ve got a few more pieces to go, not to mention all the art needed for the walls, but I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the process.

Here’s a picture to show what the new sofa looks like:
Hawt Sofa

And here’s a cabinet that I’m totally in love with. OMG, it’s gorgeous:

Gorgeous Cabinet

~ by Samer on March 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
