Color Me Informed

I have absolutely no interest in knitting, but my friend Kim is mad for it and she introduced me to the Samurai Knitter. I can’t remember exactly why – maybe it was because SK calls her child “The Goober” or maybe because her blog is very real. I don’t remember. In any case, I was scanning through the archive when I found four posts about colors and their histories. Fascinating! For example, did you know that red food coloring (food additive 120) is made from insects and can be found in your Cherry Coke? Or that the word “orange” in the English language didn’t exist till 1300-1500?

I love this kind of stuff. If you’re curious, check ’em out:

Red
Orange
Yellow
Green

~ by Samer on February 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
