$242 Mug of Hot Chocolate

The sun was out in Eugene this morning, and it was fair skies all the way to Portland. An uneventful drive except for Trooper Decker, who was only doing his job as he handed me a speeding ticket (83 mph in a 65 zone). $242… ouch.

But I’m in Portland in a cafe drinking the biggest mug of hot chocolate I could find, and I just sent my resume off for what might well be a very interesting endeavor indeed.

In other news, I just re-read First Mindy, and I’m not all that happy with how it turned out. It may be that the honeymoon is over between me and the story; that enough time’s past for me to see it more clearly. That said, I think the Jacob story is still good. It needs work, but it fundamentally has more potential. We’ll see, I suppose. Oh, and I think I have a proper title for Jacob, but as it involves some structural re-writing, I’ll wait till that task’s done.

The title came to me while driving through the snow, so the road trip, as frustrating as it’s been, is at least bearing this fruit. And I now know what black ice and divine intervention combined feel like.

~ by Samer on January 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
