Revision and Dust

I talked about revision in my last post, and the next day Elizabeth Bear’s blog directed me to a post by Justine Larbalestier on how to rewrite. Nice synchronicity!

It’s a great post, by the way, and talks about the differences between sentence level revision and structural revision.

Speaking of Elizabeth Bear, I just finished her novel Dust, and I loved it. I tried repeatedly to put it down (because I enjoy her writing and I didn’t want to just gobble it), but I couldn’t. I ended up finishing the book in one sitting.

It’s a “generation ship gone wrong” story, and the world that evolves is so interesting! As is their technology, and yet somehow at the book’s center, it’s still very human. Nice feat that.

I’m really interested in reading Jo Walton’s Farthing next. The story is a whodunit that takes place in an alternate Earth history wherein the British sign a peace treaty with Nazi Germany leaving the continent in their hands. It’s been gathering all kinds of accolades, winning awards, etc. I’m looking forward to it!

~ by Samer on January 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
