Visiting the Mothership

I can’t frickin’ believe that I’m still sick. Whatever this thing is, it is damn persistent. While the coughing has eased, I’ll still find myself trying to hack up a lung every once in a while. Also, my energy is really, really low, but that might also be from… well… everything. It’s not like a lot hasn’t been happening.

Of course, being in Portland, that didn’t keep me from visiting the Mothership, i.e. Powell’s City of Books. I’ve been wanting to pick up a copy of Mary Oliver’s Rules for the Dance. I adore Oliver’s poetry, and I’d heard good things about Rules. It’s an examination of meter in poetry, which might not sound interesting, except that it’s Oliver, and she’s clear and passionate and she knows how to dance. I’ve only just started the book, so this isn’t a review, but… oh… I’m so looking forward to delving deeper.

I also picked up the December issue of Locus, which is a magazine devoted to reporting on science-fiction and fantasy publishing news. If I’m serious about writing, then I’ll need to know the business side of things.

And because all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy… I also picked up an out-of-print omnibus of Patricia McKillip’s Riddle-Master of Hed trilogy. It’s called Riddle of Stars. I’d read the first book but not its sequels, so it’s a happy find. Plus, I bought it for $10. Weee!

It’s got a terrible 1970’s cover and totally reminds me of many of the books I read when I was a kid. But I know McKilip’s work. She’s fabulous. Od Magic, The Book of Atrix Wolfe, Song for the Basilik – all kinds of lyrical yumminess. And there’s more which I haven’t read, but I can definitely recommend these three.

~ by Samer on December 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
