Bella Mi

I wrote about the Bachmans the last time I was in Portland. They’re a great couple. When I first moved to Portland, they let me stay with them for two months until I could settled. Both have been heavily involved with Amnesty International, each of them on US Board of Directors (at different times). Jeff is an attorney for the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality and prosecutes environmental criminals. How cool is that, right? And Kathy has recently started hand-making and selling soap, and when I visited with them last night, I got a chance to tour the operation.

It’s all in-house at the moment. Quite literally so as the work takes place in their home. They make up the soap in their kitchen, down in the basement there there is a rack for cutting the soap and shelves of soap firming, and the final product is packaged in the living room.

When I first walked into the house there was a melange of scents that greeted me. Nothing as obnoxious as walking into Lush though. No – this is was earthier, subtler, somehow more inviting. I would say the same about the soaps as well. There’s something incredibly sensual about them – the colors, the texture, the scent. What became clear as I sampled each one was that Kathy and Jeff had brought the same sensibility to soap-making as they did with their cooking. And given that those two are a couple of the best cooks I know, that’s saying something.

Mi Bella 3 Mi Bella 2 Mi Bella 1

Let me give you a couple of examples of their work:

Qadisha Cedar
This olive oil-rich soap has notes of italian bergamot, apple wood, tonka bean, patchouli, cedarwood, & oakmoss, with cardamom, vanilla bourbon & allspice. We added sweet almond oil for extra moisturizing, and topped it with rough chopped cardamom pods.

Supernova
Eucalyptus, ginger and peppermint come together like a supernova to open your eyes and wake you up in the most delightful way. We’ve intensified this experience by adding fresh-squeezed lime juice, lime zest and eucalyptus leaves, and added sweet almond oil and shea butter for extra moisturizing.

By the way, the Qadisha Valley is in Lebanon and is famous for its cedar. These people have done their research. 🙂

The new company is called Mi Bella. If you’re interested in buying their soap, you can email bellamisoap@earthlink.net. A bar is $4.95 and soap truffles are $2.00. If you buy 6 bars, you get a bar free. You can find a list of some of the products in the Bella Mi Catalog. 🙂

~ by Samer on December 19, 2007.

3 Responses to “Bella Mi”

  1. We are looking at purchasing ~ 100 – 200 pieces of truffle or rum ball soap. Can you send me photo samples & prices that you offer, Once we have viewed them & made our choice(s) — we will call you ( need tel contact #). Thank you — Roy & Kahtin Devaraj

  2. please send me a brochure of your offerings

  3. please send me a catalogue so that I may purchase

Leave a Reply

 
