Nova is Bust

It’s been official for some time now, but Nova, the largest employers of English teachers in Japan, has gone bankrupt. I’ve been watching to see what impact that might have for me personally, and it looks like it will be pretty bad. Quite a few experienced English teachers, all of whom possessing valid work visas, are suddenly looking for work. The other English language schools will be hiring to pick up the slack from Nova, but I’m not sure it will be enough to get me in the door. As an example, one job opening I applied for had 600 applications already submitted for it.

My plan for staying in Japan while I learn Japanese and until I can find something more substantive is in danger. Even looking in Tokyo might not be enough. The key maybe writing/editing jobs, and I’ve applied for a couple of those already, but they don’t exist in the same numbers as the teaching gigs.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m still looking and I’m still wanting to move ahead with this, but realistically speaking, I need to make some contingency plans. It would be awesome if this could get pulled out of the fire, and I guess we’ll just have to see.

If you’re curious, here’s an article on the Nova thing.

~ by Samer on November 7, 2007.

One Response to “Nova is Bust”

  1. P.S. The frustrating thing is that I’ve seen a couple of positions that I would do well in if only I had better Japanese language ability.

Leave a Reply

 
