Round the World

It’s amazing to think that come tomorrow, I will have circumnavigated the globe over the course of (almost exactly) a year. It’s not something I expected to be doing, but once my feet were on the path, one step led to another, and suddenly here I am. And the journey’s certainly not over yet. I still have another month of travel inside the United States before… well… before whatever happens next.

What’s that you might ask? It’s Japan again. I’ve decided to come back to Fukuoka and try living there for a while. There are also some options in Fukuoka that I’d like to pursue and see where they lead. Also, I have a little Japanese (language), but it’s very basic and I’d like to make an effort to really learn it. It’ll be rough at first, but it seems I’d be able to get by teaching English until something more interesting comes along. But that’s still some time off, and as I said I have a flight tomorrow.

When I’m flying, it’s not unusual for me to look down and wonder at how so often we take modern travel for granted. Only 50 years ago, what I’m doing would be the purview of the few and privileged. And only think of 100, 200, 500 years ago – how dangerous, how extraordinary such a trip would’ve been.

As for Los Angeles, I’m looking forward to seeing my friends and family there. It has been a year, afterall, and I’ve missed them. I will say this though, for those of you who may be reading this, if you love, you’ll take me to get a burrito. It has been a year, afterall, and the boy is really craving one.

~ by Samer on September 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
