An Ordinary Update

A full work day yesterday – I closed down the cafe, and I am right on the edge of being done with my notes. The process has taken so much longer than I expected! I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised though – by the time I’m done, I’ll have something like 25,000 words in notes! It’ll be an interesting challenge cutting it all down. There is some overlap in the material which will help, but I strongly suspect that I won’t really know what the paper is going to be till I’m actually done writing the first or second draft.

It may have been a full day yesterday, but I didn’t get much sleep last night. Something I ate at one of the local Indian places didn’t agree with me, and I had a mild case of food poisoning. I’m totally okay now, and in fact have just finished off a smoothie and veggie sandwich at Cafe Fresca. Hard to keep a good stomach down, eh? Still, I was disappointed. I thought I’d found my “Indian Greasy Spoon” in Phnom Penh. What a delicious yogurt pickle they had! Needless to say, once is enough and I won’t be going back there.

Speaking of stomachs, Lowie mentioned to me that I was looking “prosperous”. Haha! Apparently, I’ve been sitting on my ass too much working on my dissertation and not walking around enough. Gonna have to work on that. It’s a good feeling feeling fit.

One last thing, I’ve just adjusted my flight arrangements, and it looks like I’ll be back in the U.S. on 11 September. It’s hard to believe, but it’ll have been almost exactly a year since I left for London. What a wild, wild ride it’s been. I’m looking forward to seeing my friends and family in Los Angeles, Portland, and Scranton. Yeehaw!

~ by Samer on August 30, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
