Inner Geek in Anticipation

Tomorrow morning, I should be the proud owner of a Macbook. It took some doing to track down the Apple resellers in Phnom Penh (there are only three, and Apple doesn’t make it easy) and then of course there was the discussion with my credit card company (I had forgotten to let them know that I will be in Cambodia), but hopefully the laptop crisis will end well soon. *fingers crossed*

Surprisingly, I am getting a rather good price. Approximately US$1,500 for the black Macbook. Usually electronics imports are more pricey in Cambodia than neighboring Thailand, but I seem to have lucked into a good deal. And yes, it’s a  reputable place with a new machine in good working order. And it was so pretty and shiny!

My inner geek is excited by the new toy, especially as its been a while since I’ve owned an Apple machine. Way back when (circa 1983 or so), my first computer was an Apple IIc, and what a sweet little computer it was. Not as impressive as the Amiga that came after it, but there’s something to be said for your first.

Nerdiness aside, this also means I can finally start writing!

~ by Samer on August 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
