The Easiest Visa

My visa for Cambodia arrived in my email in-box today. Damn, but that was fast. I had applied online for a tourist visa just a couple of days ago. All that was required was a digital passport photo, which was easy enough even using The World’s Crappiest Digital Camera (picked up at a pawn shop here in London, near Chapel Market). If only my student visa for the UK had been this easy…

And speaking of Cambodia, there’s been a slight change of plans. I’ll be heading directly from Bangkok to Phnom Penh. I’m passing on Siem Reap (and therefore Angkor Wat) till later in August. One, I want to avoid the taxi mafia/head ache of getting from Poipet to Siem Reap. (Poipet is the border town on the Cambodian side.) Much easier, I’ve heard, to go back and forth from Phnom Penh. And two, the amount of work for my dissertation is piling up. I want to be firmly and quickly settled into Phnom Penh just in case the need for research is greater than I first expected. I may be missing adventure this way, but I’m willing to trade adventure for some peace of mind. And besides, I’ve learned that there’s enough that finds you all on its own.

~ by Samer on July 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
